skip navigation

Meet The Coaches

2017-18 Boys Teams

Age Group (rising) Birth Year Coach Contact info Coaching Philosophy
U7B 2011 Zach Klingonsmith zachklingonsmith@wasatchsoccer.org Learning and playing soccer should be fun with a long term focus on development as a player within a team. I emphasize teamwork, respect and fair play.
U8B 2010 Sean Dunroe seandunroe@wasatchsoccer.org I want to teach players to love the game of soccer, develop their individual skills, work hard, have fun, and play as a team. This will ensure success on the pitch and develop the traits necessary to excel off the field as well.
U10B 2008 Trent Sanders trentsanders@wasatchsoccer.org Create a fun soccer environment and teach the boys the skills they will need to play on the entire field
U10B 2008 Jared Schreiner jaredschreiner@wasatchsoccer.org Success is achieved by learning fundamentals and improving individual and team skills in every practice and game. Winning games is not meant to be the primary objective. Winning is considered to be the result of good skills and tactics. My focus is on meeting individual and team objectives and promoting creativity and decision making.
U10B 2008 Nate Thacker natethacker@wasatchsoccer.org Create an environment of fun and learning in order to develop the player and team to the best of their abilities and create a lifetime love for sports, soccer and development.
U10B 2008 Ryan Robinson ryanrobinson@wasatchsoccer.org Keep the end in mind. The result of today's game or practice should be a better understanding and enjoyment of the game. Winning will be the byproduct of continued improvement. Enjoyment will be the result of engaged learning. My job is to provide the atmosphere where these this takes place as often as possible.
U11B 2007 Zach Klingonsmith zachklingonsmith@wasatchsoccer.org Learning and playing soccer should be fun with a long term focus on development as a player within a team. I emphasize teamwork, respect and fair play.
U11B 2007 Ben Pritt Benpritt@wasatchsoccer.org Develop players and team, have positive atmosphere, teach the game, teach players to work hard and be accountable.
U10B 2007 Jesse Corning jessecorning@wasatchsoccer.org I want to share and inspire a love for the game so they stick with soccer. Our rule #1 is we should be having fun. I want to pay attention to each players unique personalities and support each of them in the way that works best for them. I focus on foundational skills, recognizing each player's strengths and weaknesses, and helping them work on the holes in their individual games. Simultaneously I teach team concepts and work to resolve areas needing improvement.
U11B 2007 Cory Beynon corybenyon@wasatchsoccer.org Develop each player individually and help them improve their technical and tactical aspects of the game. My goal is to do this in a positive manner that not only develops good soccer players, but builds character of good young men.
U11B 2007 Garth Black garthblack@wasatchsoccer.org I am committed to creating an enjoyable, competitive, learning atmosphere where team members (coaches and players) will develop age-appropriate skills and habits. I aim to ensure that each of our team members are able to perform at their fullest potential: both on the field and off the field.
U11B 2007 Sean Dunroe seandunroe@wasatchsoccer.org I want to teach players to love the game of soccer, develop their individual skills, work hard, have fun, and play as a team. This will ensure success on the pitch and develop the traits necessary to excel off the field as well.
U12B 2006 Jared Schreiner jaredschreiner@wasatchsoccer.org Success is achieved by learning fundamentals and improving individual and team skills in every practice and game. Winning games is not meant to be the primary objective. Winning is considered to be the result of good skills and tactics. My focus is on meeting individual and team objectives and promoting creativity and decision making.
U13B 2005 Colby Frost colbyfrost@wasatchsoccer.org Emphasis on long-term player development, teamwork, fun, and respect for the game
U13B 2005 Scott Richardson president@wasatchsoccer.org My coaching philosophy is to help the boys develop their technical and tactial skills as well as their mental skills through meaningful practice and games. I hope for them to have a positive experience as a part of team and learn how to be respectful while winning or losing. Helping them develop sportsmanship and letting our play on the field be what we are all about.
U13B 2005 Brandon Wright brandonwright@wasatchsoccer.org
U14B 2004 Wes Shadow wesshadow@wasatchsoccer.org Player development within a team concept.Focus on creativitybuilt on fundamental soccer skills. The 3 things we say before every game: Have fun. Play hard. Be good sports.
U13B 2004 Jeff Dodenbier jeffdodenbier@wasatchsoccer.org My coaching philosophy is soccer fundamentals and team chemistry. To love the game, you have to know the game. My one single goal every year is that each player gets better and that the team get better. I think everyone has the will to win, but they also need to will to practice and get better.
U14B 2004 Greg Washburn gregwashburn@wasatchsoccer.org Player development and creating a fun but challenging atmosphere for all players. Teach respect for coaches, other players, and refs.
U15B 2003 Joel Ferre joelferre@wasatchsoccer.org My mission is to provide a transformational rather than transactional experience for players and parents by creating an environment where players can grow as human beings and soccer players.
U15B 2003 John Kennedy john@wasatchsoccer.org My coaching philosophy is to teach these boys how to play the game of soccer. My goal is to aid in their technical and tactical development and help them build lasting friendships and experiences. My hope is that they will learn to love the game and that I can have a small part in their development as a player as well as their character on and off the field.
U16B 2002 Heath Huffman heathhuffman@wasatchsoccer.org Provide an environment that encourages teamwork and good sportsmanship and challenges each player to be committed to excellence and give their personal best in all they do both on and off the pitch while fostering a love and respect of the game. Help each player identify their potential both individually and as a member of a team, and encourage a passion for continued personal growth and development. Provide the training resources necessary to support each player in achieving the level of success they are capable of and willing to work to attain.
U16B 2002 Tadd Bunderson tadd@wasatchsoccer.org I believe every player can reach their potential through a positive, fun learning environment. I teach and expect commitment, dedication, and respect and promise the same to my players. I do not coach "direct" style soccer. I coach the proper "possession" way of playing the beautiful game that will benefit these players for a lifetime and not just to earn a youth trophy. I hope to instill a passion for the game of soccer in their heads and hearts and provide skills that will help these players both on and off the pitch. My players know that I'm always behind them 100% in everything they do both now and in the future.
U16B 2002 Taylor Crockett taylorcrockett@wasatchsoccer.org I want these young men to have fun and enjoy playing, but also be dedicated to improving the team and their individual skills to allow everyone to grow.
U16B 2002 Brandon Wright brandonwright@wasatchsoccer.org
U17B 2001 Colin Heald colinheald@wasatchsoccer.org Player development. Play the game the right way.
U17B 2001 Kyle Keliipuleole kylekeliipuleole@wasatchsoccer.org Kyle Keliipuleole is entering his 4th year with Wasatch SC. He brings his experience to from winning 3 state cup titles, Playing 4 years varsity at Clearfield High School, winning a National Championship with Weber State, and professional trials with Real Monarchs (USL), Seattle Sounders 2 (USL), Reno 1868 (USL), and Portland Timbers (MLS). "I will help the players learn to understand the game at a high level and find success in whatever there goals are. I will use the things I have learned and continue to learn to help the players become the best players they can become."
U18B 2000 Scott Wood scottwood@wasatchsoccer.org Build the player and then build the team. Success starts with the individual knowing themselves and their abilities and then striving to improve both. Everyone needs a solid foundation and playing soccer brings much of that base to a youth. We are committed to winning and we play to win every game. As we come off the field after the final whistle, regardless of the score, we know if we gave everything to the sport and team to win. We know if we measured up to our goals and we work on improving every practice and every game.
U18B 2000 Joel Ferre joelferre@wasatchsoccer.org My mission is to provide a transformational rather than transactional experience for players and parents by creating an environment where players can grow as human beings and soccer players.

2017-18 Girls Teams

Age Group (rising) Birth Year Coach Contact info Coaching Philosophy
U7 2011 Jon lay jonlay@wasatchsoccer.org I believe in creating a fun atmosphere for players to learn to play and enjoy soccer as a lifetime sport
U8G 2010 Nate Thacker natethacker@wasatchsoccer.org Create an environment of fun and learning in order to develop the player and team to the best of their abilities and create a lifetime love for sports, soccer and development.
U9G 2009 Dan Martin danmartin@wasatchsoccer.org To create a FUN-filled, POSITIVE environment for players to develop a love for the game, improve their skills and abilities, challange them, and teach them the concept of a team.
U10G 2008 Martin Jensen martin@wasatchsoccer.org Player developement in a healthy atmophere. I want players to learn the fundamentals of the game and have a positive expereince at each, game, practice and training session.
U11G 2007 Wilson Edwards wilsonedwards@wasatchsoccer.org
U11G 2007 Kamron Nordfors kamnordfors@wasatchsoccer.org
U11G 2007 Zach Burton zachburton@wasatchsoccer.org i would like to develop players in all aspects of the game. I try to implement trainings that coincide with actual game situations. I try to make the players comfortable regardless if the ball is in the air, on the ground, and regardless of the speed of play. I think it's imperative to teach the kids that the game is a team sport. To teach them structure and discipline. Once that is established, allow them the creativity and desire to define the game with their unique abilities within that team structure.
U12G 2006 Ryan Marrelli ryanmarelli@wasatchsoccer.org Make sure each player develops skills they need to play and advance in their soccer development individual and as a team. While having fun and growing a love for the game of soccer.
U12G 2006 Jeff Morris jeffmorris@wasatchsoccer.org My goal as a coach is to help kids learn how to play the game properly, which in-turn will create a love for the game that will never die! This means learning the fundamentals such as the technical and tactical aspects of the game as well as good sportsmanship... win, lose or draw. Lessons learned in soccer and team sports will teach kids lessons that will last a lifetime.
U11G 2006 Jeff Dodenbier jeffdodenbier@wasatchsoccer.org My coaching philosophy is soccer fundamentals and team chemistry. To love the game, you have to know the game. My one single goal every year is that each player gets better and that the team get better. I think everyone has the will to win, but they also need to will to practice and get better.
U12G 2006 Ryan Robinson ryanrobinson@wasatchsoccer.org Keep the end in mind. The result of today's game or practice should be a better understanding and enjoyment of the game. Winning will be the byproduct of continued improvement. Enjoyment will be the result of engaged learning. My job is to provide the atmosphere where these this takes place as often as possible.
U13G 2005 Ryan Nord ryannord@wasatchsoccer.org My focus is threfold: (1) that the players have fun and devleop a love for the "beautiul game," (2) develop each individual as soccer players with a long term focus, as I give them room to grow, make their own decisions on the pitch, and make mistakes so their delopment will be long-term rather than that being sacrificed in the short term for an extra win here or there at the cost of long-term development, and (3) learn life lessons through soccer that translate into life skills and character. I emphasize these principles through positive reinforcement and encouragement and by devleoping a positive attitude and culture within the team.
U13G 2005 Tom Morse tommorse@wasatchsoccer.org My primary objective as a coach is to promote a love for the game and the team. I love the 'game within the game' and focus on a possession based style of soccer. It is my opportunity to help each player succeed in building individual skills that contribute to the teams overall success. That is done through guided discovery and reinforcing the principles of hard work and integrity on and off the field. I believe in treating the players, referees and parents in a way that I would want to be treated and I expect the same from players, parents and teammates. It is my job to create a positive environment that challenges players to grow in every training session and game. That means we allow players to make mistakes, recognize our weaknesses, challenge ourselves to improve and praise progress as it occurs. My hope is that through this process we teach players lessons that will instill confidence and not only help them succeed in soccer but in life.
U14G 2004 Colette Smith colettesmith@wasatchsoccer.org To develop each player technically and tactically. I want to provide an atmosphere that gives players the tools needed to achieve their dreams.
U14G 2004 Soozy Barber soozybarber@wasatchsoccer.org It is my goal, as a coach, to instill a passion for the game of soccer within each of my players. I aim to foster this passion through positive reinforcement, fun, challenging, and competitive training sessions. I believe that if I can ignite the passion for the game, the game itself will drive players to become better.
U14G 2004 Ian Simpson iansimpson@wasatchsoccer.org I primarily want my players to work hard, have fun, and love the game. I want my team to play possession soccer. During the year we will work on developing individual technical skills and team tactics. I expect my players to be committed to developing their skills, by working hard at practice and practicing at home. I also expect them to be committed to the team by giving their best effort, having a positive attitude, and being a good teammates.
U15G 2003 Lee Davis lee@wasatchsoccer.org It is my responsibility to create an environment that encourages players to learn how to play the game and develop the skills required to have success on and off the field.
U15G 2003 Kody Hunter kodyhunter@wasatchsoccer.org Develop players and provide environment where that development can be achieved through self learning
U15 2003 Korbin Tafoya korbintafoya@wasatchsoccer.org Firstly I want to build character and condidence in my players, teach them to be accountable and responsible. Secondly develope individual skills and put them in challenging situations so they can learn to grow. Third, demonstrate effective leadership and create a professional evironment. Lastly, teach the beautiful game of high energy, possession soccer.
U16G 2002 Rex Cragun rexcragun@wasatchsoccer.org To allow each player to learn and grow. I am a firm believer that "all ships rise with the tide" and as we improve as a team we improve as individuals. It is my job to encourage creativity, allow mistakes, inspire confidence and nurture a love of the game.
U16G 2002 Steve Parkinson steveparkinson@wasatchsoccer.org My philosophy is, “PLAYER FIRST – WINNING SECOND”, winning will come when the player learns the skills, attitude, knowledge and respect for the game that is needed. We feel we are teaching young people how to not only succeed in playing this beautiful game but also and more importantly in life, and in life there are no short-cuts. We feel that the best defense is a better offense and that we will play the game as a passing, moving & possession team, instead of the more common “boom ball” that many other teams play. We also feel that every player should be a well-rounded player, and be able to play any position at any given time. Meaning that players will not only play positions that they are good at but that if needed they may play a different position and will need to know the basics to each position, the Dutch call this “TOTAL FOOTBALL” This is and should remain as a “players game”, meaning that the problems that occur on the field have to be resolved by the players, and not the coach. Giving continuous instructions to each player during the game stifles the players’ creativity and we want them to be creative and imaginative. There will be times when we will instruct the ladies from the bench, but that is the exception not the rule. The only thing that a coach can do during a game is change tactics (formation, personnel, etc.). Our opportunities to coach are at practices, training sessions, to give instruction before each game, during half time, and while players are on the bench during the game.
U17G 2001 Tige McDowell Tige@wasatchsoccer.org
U17G 2001 Tige McDowell Tige@wasatchsoccer.org
U17G 2001 Richard Marshall richardmarshall@wasatchsoccer.org I strive to create a fun, positive environment where the players are given the opportunity to improve thier soccer ability and realize their potential as an individual and as a team. I believe in teaching good sportsmanship and fair play while focusing on team effort and individual/team improvement.